The Governing Body



The Governing Body of Eaton Bray Academy exisits to ensure that the school fulfils its aims and objectives and meets statutory requirements. Governors also serve as Trustees of the Academy.


All members of the governing body are firmly committed to state education and also the idea that education should be for children from the whole community. All Governors contribute their time freely.


The Governing Body is made up of the following:


Chair of Governors

Mrs Catherine Wendeler

C/O – Eaton Bray Academy, School Lane, Eaton Bray, LU6 2DT
01525 220468 


Name of Governor        Type of Governor          Appointed by

Dr Richard Bell                Community Governor     Co-opted by the Governing Body

Mr Andy George              Parent Governor            Elected by parents

Miss Amanda Loveday    Community Governor     Co-opted by the Governing Body

Mr Keiron O’Kane            Parent Governor            Elected by parents

Mrs Lynne Mercer            Head Teacher                Governor ex-officio

Mrs Lois Matthews           Staff Governor               Co-opted by the Governing Body

Mrs Sally Siddons            Clerk to Governors         Appointed by the Governing Body

The Governing Body may be contacted at


The Governing Body meets 3 times a year, once a term.




In addition to the Main Governing Body meetings we also have two sub-committees.

Finance and Estates – Chair – Andy George – meets three times a year

Personnel and Curriculum – Chair – Dr Richard Bell – meets three times  per year

Register of Business Interests


Our Governors have a statutory obligation to list any relevant business and pecuniary interests recorded in the Statutory Register of Business Interests. This includes governance roles in other educational institutions; any material interests arising from relationships between governors or relationships between governors and school staff (including spouses, partners and close relatives).

Governor /                       Appointment     Pecuniary / Business                               Committee Membership

Former Governor           Ceases               Interest 


Dr Richard Bell                31/07/2022          None                                                          Personnel and Curriculum

Mr Andy George              31/08/2024          Headteacher Heart Academies Trust        Finance and Estates

Miss Amanda Loveday    31/08/2024          None                                                          Finance and Estates

Mr Keiron O’Kane            31/08/2024          None                                                          Finance and Estates

Mrs Lynne Mercer                                        Headteacher EBA                                      

Mrs Lois Matthews           31/03/2023          Deputy Headteacher EBA                          Personnel and Curriculum

Mrs Sally Siddons                                        None

Mrs Catherine Wendeler  31/12/2024          None                                                          Personnel and Curriculum

Mr Amrish Ganatra          31/08/2020           None                                                          Finance

Mr Shaun Haydon           31/08/2020           None                                                          Finance

Mr Mark Whall                 31/08/2020           Property Maintenance EBA                       Personnel and Curriculum    

Mrs Sue Hounslow          31/08/2020           Headteacher EBA                                      

Mr Paul Fisher                 31/03/2020           None                                                          Estates

Copyright Eaton Bray Academy 2017